I’m a tad overweight, and a tad out of shape. That’s not really surprising, but I am trying to do something about it.

I’ve tried before, and have gotten varying amounts of success out of it thanks to long bouts of incredibly bad weather, devastating flu’s and other obstacles, but this time I’ve taken things further than before and I really hope (and really intend) to take it all the way.

I’ve been doing the NHS Couch-to-5K podcast/program thing (again).

It’s pretty simple; you download the podcasts and listen to them as you run every other day for a half hour, running when they say run and walking they say walk.  You listen to the music and don’t stop giving it your all.

And it’s working.

Monday I ran the first of three different runs for week five (having run all previous weeks’ runs three times, of course). By the time this comes out, I’ll be over half way in the nine week course and hopefully more than half way to being able to run for a half hour or about five kilometers.

The thing is, the strangest thing happened: I felt what can only be called the runner’s high. The first running section in the run I probably hit it a little bit too hard, but didn’t slow down and didn’t stop. The second  running section was a little slower, but not much. I was feeling it, but not huffing and puffing like bellows as I had been on previous weeks’ sessions.

And then the third time I had to run… I suddenly realised I could actually just run. Sure, I was feeling the exertion, but I didn’t feel like dying and didn’t feel any need to slow down. It felt like I could just keep on running, almost forever.

I’m not bragging, I’m not claiming I’m some super human (you’d just have to look at me to see I’ve been hit with the ravages of living, heh), but I’m also going to say that even fat bastards like me can get into shape if they want.

If you’ve been teetering on the edge of improving your body and life, then give it a go.

2 responses »

  1. Richard kay says:

    Running can be addictive. At some point you will come across a lull in the enthusiasm. Carrying on through that is the hardest part. I had to drag my arse out of bed for a 43 mile cycle at 5 am this morning. That is very hard to get enthusiastic about!

    • dmayoss says:

      The lady in the podcast does indeed warn that running becomes more mental than physical once you get far enough into the whole thing. I definitely believe her. I need to exercise, I need to improve my overall fitness. I can’t do 43 miles on a bike ride yet, but I’d like to think that one day I could.

Leave a Reply

